P.W.N. People Writing Nonsense!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in

The Gentle Candle-Flame

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
Owle Gray

Owle Gray

Number of posts : 163
Registration date : 2010-02-26

The Gentle Candle-Flame Empty
PostSubject: The Gentle Candle-Flame   The Gentle Candle-Flame EmptyWed Mar 03, 2010 10:08 pm

Sorry for the underlines... I'm just learning how to format text in this. I have yet to understand how to make the text fit where I want... Mad
-----------------------------

The Gentle Candle-Flame

The gentle candle-flame burns bright
A common symbol, oh so trite
Of hope, of peace, and contemplation;
And yet I stare in consternation
At the fire’s dismal depths;
_______________________There lie
________tears I’ve not yet shed. You die!
Beneath set countenance I break down
And stare ahead, though my thoughts drown
In stupors of lost despair,
______________________without You...
I gaze around me, crushed anew
Amidst evil glitters of mournful flame –
To me all rites are now the same –
A life so great, gone down the culvert:
-
A funeral’s candle brings no comfort.

--------------------------------------

Please tear this apart. Thanks.
Back to top Go down
Dark S3cret
Admin
Dark S3cret

Number of posts : 458
Registration date : 2009-01-17

PostSubject: Re: The Gentle Candle-Flame   The Gentle Candle-Flame EmptySun Mar 07, 2010 12:12 pm

Can I say I am in love with your vocabulary? Oooh. I love that you used consternation and dismal and countenance and stupor. Very Happy Ahhh. Goldmine.

Interesting discord of ideas that sums up a candle flame quite nicely. Common, hope, peace, yet dismal. Is it just me or does the dismal seem to outweigh all the nice optimistic words?

So... your character is mourning/angry about the death of a loved one? Sorry if the question is an obvious one. I could assume, which I sort of have, in inquiring yet nevertheless...